Bread with topping that I don’t wanna call Pizza

The other day I had a real craving for baking. I wanted to bake something salty, non-cakey. That imagination was fueled by the thick bush or basil that has been growing in our kitchen all winter long but never was used as a herb because we lacked nice and ripe tomatoes. I imagined a dough that was spread thinly but had a thick rim. And on the thinner part there should be dried tomatoes (also available in winter) and olives and maybe cheese. Very simple. Not too much topping and still winter-friendly. Kind of like focaccia but with a very stretchy and rather firm dough. It should not be Pizza I thought. It should be a bread with a topping. More like the german Dinnete or Flammkuchen. So no tomatosauce and only very few ingredients. But very good ones at that too. And since I didn’t have to work on the market that friday that I wanted to make Pizzabread without it being pizza I went to the market anyways. This time I was a customer though and not selling the products to other people. Fabio and Meike accompanied me and it was one of the most relaxing mornings since a long time. We spent time having coffee, and checking out good cheeses. I bought a 2 year old peccorino and some mountain cheese as well as dried tomatoes and olives and arugula. The dough I had set up in the morning before going to bike the big route. So there was not much time to let the sourdough develope but since I have a pretty strong sourdough the only thing I was really concearned about was the taste, not the rising action. Though the taste doesn’t matter as much, if you top your bread with strong cheese and other yummie stuff I guess. I used a Pizzaflour I had bought from Adler-Mühle recently. It is a mix of semolina and semolinaflour. The dough gets really stretchy in the making and nice and crispy after baking.

Ingredients for the dough:

∗ 70 g of sourdough starter (I used rye starter in lack of wheat starter)
∗ 300 g Pizzaflour (typically a mix of semolina and semolinaflour)
∗ 7 g salt
∗ 200 g water
∗ 3 tablespoons full of oliveoil

Mix all the inredients well and knead for at least 10 minutes on the lowes setting. The dough should develope a stretchy, soft and even surface. Let rise for 2 hours, then start folding the dough every half hour for a total of 4 hours. After that let the dough rest for another hour. Take the dough out of the bowl, cut in two to three pieces and shape into a rather flat Pizzashape. Leave a little meat at the sides so you get a nice crust and a higher rise on the outer parts. Let it rest on the baking-sheet and cover with plastic wrap for another hour. The dough should really grow. Top the dough with cheese, olives and dried tomatoes. Preheat oven to 250°C/ 480°F and bake for 15-30 minutes (depends on how thick or thin you stretched out the dough).Pizzabread_3

Leave a Reply

